The ATAX (Product Review)

Well, to start out I wanted to do more with this knife from an engineering standpoint.

However because we are going “great GUNS” pun intended…at work I didn’t get a chance to take the passaround to the materials lab to do some tests on it.

Between work and getting ready for the littleone’s arrival I didn’t get to field test as extensively either.

I did however take the ATAX out this weekend and did get to do some actual cutting and chopping with it.

Well, first of all I sat down and watched Ron’s video on the ATAX paying attention to his tips, tricks, and warnings about the very sharp edges and functions built into the blade.

So after familiarizing myself with the features for the second time (watched the video with my Father-in-law a few weeks ago)I decided to take the ATAX along with BOB for a walk in the rolling foothills of the Adirondack Park.

The first thing I noticed about carrying the ATAX was that it was better to carry either over the right hip or small of the back because of the unique sheath design.

I won’t say that the ATAX was uncomfortable to carry, just that it took a little to get comfortable for me. I carry my regular knives mostly in leather sheaths in the traditional carry position. Once I got the feel of the ATAX riding in the sheath I felt more comfortable as time went on.

I tried a few of the different features such at the Clinometer , and the sundial.


I even tried the rangefinder feature out on a couple fencposts.(Sorry for the crappy pic)

I also tried some light chopping with the ATAX, however I didn’t have a ziptie to secure the head as safely as I would’ve liked so I made a tether from my wrist to the head, and it served adequately enough to limb out part of a maple near my fall deerblind.

In the chopping mode the ATAX wasn’t as effective as purpose built choppers I brought along to compare it to, however we have to keep in mind this is an all purpose tool not a single use implement.

As a fine tool for whittling or making a fuzzstick the ATAX worked as good as any camp or bushknife in my experience.

One other project was to try to shoot an arrow using a piece of stout cord and some surgical tubing I brought along for the occasion.

I was only able to fire the arrow I had brought along a total of 3 times before my tubing broke and gave me a nasty bit*hslap in the middle of the forehead! :stretcher:

YES I WAS WEARING SAFETYGLASSES AT THE TIME!!!!!

All in all I would rate the utility of the ATAX an honest 7.5 to 8 10!

The ATAX does alot of things well, that’s what it was designed to do, functionality and utility of the blade was what I think Ron was striving for.
I believe he succeeded!
Things I would like to see to improve the ATAX would be:

A) Make it easier to access the storage compartment by using a larger slot in the screw so that a nickle or dime or quarter can be used to unscrew the handle.

B) make a groove in the handle at the point where the arrow rests on the handle, this would ease the release of the arrow and there would be less tailing problems on release.

C)Make a version of the ATAX with a non-blasted finish to ease in chopping and extraction from wood. The sandblasted finish aids in precision cutting when fingers are close to the edge, however I’m a big boy and if I slip I can use the provided fishline and hook to “suture self”.

Leave a Reply

